MISD fine arts director Deb Shaw named 2023 Texas Thespians Administrator of the Year

Midland ISD fine arts director Deb Shaw earns statewide honor

Deb Shaw, longtime fine arts director for Midland ISD, received the 2023 Texas Thespians Administrator of the Year honor during the Texas Thespians State Festival in San Antonio last weekend.

Shaw, leader of the district’s Fine Arts department for the last 18 years and currently in her 32nd year in fine arts education, said she was floored by the recognition. But her colleagues at the MISD are less surprised.

“Deb Shaw is a powerhouse of an administrator,” said MHS Theatre Director Tiffany Gardner-Moore. “She is a champion of kids and holds them to the highest of expectations.”

During the award ceremony, colleagues, parents and students thanked Shaw for her commitment to leadership, fine arts and her students, according to the school district. Parent Luis Gonzalez called her “irreplaceable and one-of-a-kind.”

“Her passion for the arts, combined with her exemplary organization and managerial skills, have propelled the fine arts department to new heights,” added Education Foundation Executive Director Anita Gamertsfelder.

Shaw wasn’t the only representative of MISD winning awards at the festival. Midland High’s theatre program performed A Midsummer Night’s Dream and earned awards for best costume design, hair design, makeup design, set design, props design, and technical crew, according to MISD. Junior Aubrey Pulliam was named Best Stage Manager.

MHS Theatre students racked up numerous honors for individual competitions. Four MISD students earned Texas Thespians Scholarship interviews, with senior Xochi Odukwu winning a $1,000 scholarship. Odukwu and fellow senior Jeff Wood were cast in the All-State Mini-musical.

Full list of MISD honorees:

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Best Costume Design

Best Hair Design

Best Makeup Design

Best Set Design

Best Props Design

Best Stage Manager, Aubrey Pulliam

Best Technical Crew

Individual competitions:

Group Acting (Perfect Score and a MainStage Finalist) — the Mechanicals & Puck from A Midsummer Night’s Dream with Seniors Alex Gonzalez, Brianna Rivera and Valeria Guillen, Juniors A.J. Hernandez, Madison Coleman, Blane Wheeless and Sophomore Mica Delgado

Group Acting — the Lovers from A Midsummer Night’s Dream with Seniors Charlotte Browder, Landry Wood, Jett Wood and Sophomore Sam Davis

Listen to this story at 2 pm daily via the Recording Library of West Texas